For the latest information on coronavirus, or COVID-19, including service and program impacts in Chatham County, please visit the coronavirus webpage.


Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Chatham County has two water districts, Southeast and Southwest, which were established by County Commissioners. Voters in these districts approved general obligation bonds to finance water lines in their district.These districts are separate legal entities, but are governed by the Chatham County Board of Commissioners.

Funding for both districts will be provided by loans from USDA Rural Development.

The county provides water to other areas in the county, such as the northeast section, but these areas are not established as separate districts.

The County's long-term plan is to run lines from the Jordan Lake Water Treatment Plant to serve the districts.


The Southeast Water District is located in the Southeast portion of Chatham County and consists of the Cape Fear, Haw River and Oakland Townships.  The population of the District is approximately 3,498 persons, according to 2000 Census Tract Data.  
The Southeast Water District will be capable of serving approximately 1,511 households along the lines currently funded. The system consists of approximately 30 miles of water distribution mains and completed in March 2010.



The Southwest Water District is located in the Southwest portion of Chatham County and will consist of the Bear Creek and Gulf Townships.  The population of the District is approximately 6,657 persons, according to 2000 Census Tract Data.

The Southwest Water District will be capable of serving approximately, 2,955 households along waterlines currently funded. The system consists of approximately 83 miles of water distribution mains.



Pea Ridge Road: This project is completed and it consisted of a 24 and 16 inch transmission water main from Jordan Lake Water Treatment Plant south to the Moncure and Asbury Communities.   

Western Transmission Main: This project is completed.  Construction consisted of the Siler City area of U.S. 64 and the Asbury community on Johnny Shaw Rd.  The purpose of the waterline is to provide county water to the western part of the county. This area currently gets its water from Siler City and the Town of Goldston. 

Southeast District:  This project is completed.  Project consists of 30 miles of 8" and 6" water mains along these roads: Gade Bryant, East Gargus, US Hwy 15, NC Hwy 87, Old Sanford, Chatham Church, Haywood Rd, Moncure Loop, River Point, Moncure School, Moncure Flatwood, Mays Chapel,, Rosser, Partain, Asbury Church, Lydia Perry, R Jordan, Taylor Chapel, Lower Thrift, Weaver Trail, and Gum Springs Church Road.   



Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Download Acrobat Reader Flash Player Download Flash Player Windows Media Player Download Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Download Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Download Word Viewer Excel Viewer Download Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer