IMPORTANT! All forms below must be
completed, printed and returned.
To obtain a Concealed Carry Handgun permit, the State of North Carolina requires the following guidelines:
The applicant must be at least 21 years of age.
The applicant must complete the North Carolina approved Concealed Carry Safety Class. Upon completion, the applicant will receive an original certificate of completion signed by a certified firearms instructor. IMPORTANT: You must bring the original certificate of completion with you and it will be retained in the applicant’s permanent file.
Concealed Handgun Application must be filled out and notarized* on Page 2. Please Note: the Chatham County Sheriff’s Office provides notary services for Concealed Handgun Applications and Release of Mental Health Forms. CLICK HERE TO OBTAIN FILLABLE FORM IN MS WORD. If you have trouble using this form, you can print it off and fill it in by hand.
Release of Physical and Mental Health Form must be filled out, including the name of the applicant’s primary care physician, and notarized*. Please Note: the Chatham County Sheriff’s Office provides notary services for Concealed Handgun Applications and Release of Mental Health Forms. CLICK HERE FOR FILLABLE PDF FORM. You should be able to fill it out on your computer and print it OR print it and complete by hand.
The applicant is required to provide proof of citizenship with either a birth certificate or valid passport.
The applicant is required to provide proof of county residency. The following are forms of acceptable documentation:
a. Chatham County Property Tax or Vehicle Tax bill.
b. Chatham County Voter’s Registration card.
c. Electric bill or County water bill.
Applications are accepted Monday-Friday between 8:00 am and 5:00 pm in order to process fingerprints.
Total cost of application is $90.00, which includes the $80.00 application fee and the $10.00 fingerprint fee. Effective August 1, 2015, pursuant to North Carolina Statute §14-415.19, there will be a $15.00 duplicate permit fee. Acceptable forms of payment are cash, check or debit/credit card (but NOT American Express). Checks should be made out to “CCSO” for Chatham County Sheriff’s Office.
**Effective December 1, 2017, there is a minimum convenience fee of $1.00 for all credit card transactions under $33.00. All transactions over $33.00 will be assessed a 3.00% convenience fee of the total cost to be charged. These transactions will appear separately on your bank statement.**
Permits typically take approximately 8-10 weeks to process, but can take up to 12 weeks during peak times of the year. Our office will contact you when the permit arrives. We ask that you bring your NC Drivers License for identification upon pick up. The address reflected on the driver’s license must reflect the address on the new permit.
Change of Address Form: If you move after receiving your permit, you must complete a Change of Address Form with the issuing county/agency. For example, if you are moving into Chatham from Wake County, you must notify Wake County in person BEFORE contacting Chatham County to issue the new permit.
Please feel free to contact our office at 919-545-8158 with any questions you may have regarding the concealed handgun permitting process.