For the latest information on coronavirus, or COVID-19, including service and program impacts in Chatham County, please visit the coronavirus webpage.

Appearance Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

The commission establishes and oversees programs to enhance the appearance of the county.  The commission also reviews and comments on non-residential Conditional Zoning District and Conditonal Use Permit Site Plans.   

MEETINGS: Held the 4th Wednesday of the month at 6:00 pm.  For Meeting Dates and Location, Click here

Materials are required to be submitted to the Appearance Commission by the 3rd Wednesday of each month (1 week prior to the meeting).  Send to angela.plummer@

MEMBERS: Members are appointed by the County Board of Commissioners for three-year terms.  Each commissioner has one appointment, usually from his or her district, and the full Board of Commissioners makes two at-large appointments. Current members are:

  • Shelly Jacobs (Chair)
  • Dan Sundberg (Vice Chair)
  • Phillip Cox (Secretary)
  • Davis Andrews
  • Grimsley T. Hobbs
  • Kim D'Amico
  • Mary Barone
  • Clinton Miller

Note: County Commissioner Liaison is Diana Hales

Contact: Shelly Jacobs (Chair) - Email