Chatham County News

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
To view news events older than 90 days, select the option below to View Archived News.

Sheriff Mike Roberson Announces 2018 Award Winners

Post Date:12/28/2018

Sheriff Mike Roberson opened the annual Sheriff’s Office Awards Banquet by highlighting the many successes of his team in 2018.

“It is my pleasure to recognize your hard work and service to our community,” Sheriff Roberson stated. “I know all of you have been working diligently and deserve recognition for the teamwork and accomplishments we have made in the last year. In my eyes, every employee deserves an award for the amazing work they do every day.”

Mike Brady received the Detention Officer of the year award while Cody DeViney took home the award for Officer of the Year. Both were nominated by peers and selected via a voting process. “The highest praise you can receive comes not from supervisors, but from your peers,” said Captain Ken McDaniel. “Out of everyone who works at the Sheriff’s Office, your co-workers identified you as most deserving of this award. It also means we expect more great things from you in the future.”

The same process is followed to select Rookies of the Year. Detention Officer Hannah Hilliard and Deputy David Nixon were given awards for Rookie of the Year in their respective units. “Rookie of the Year Awards come with high expectations, too,” said Captain Tammy Kirkman. “We will be looking to these recipients to become Officers of the Year in years to come.”

The Life Saving Award went to Corporal Robert Hussey and Deputy Cody DeViney for taking immediate action to assist individuals in life-threatening distress. “These deputies bring honor to all law enforcement professionals through their demonstration of selflessness and service when it was needed most,” said Captain Steve Maynor.

Lieutenant Sara Pack and Deputy Chris Perry received Meritorious Achievement Awards for going above and beyond the requirements of their jobs to lead, serve, and protect.

Certificates of Appreciation were awarded to Administrative Services Specialist Sarah Allen, Investigators Chris Tipton and Brent Fonville, and Deputies Amy Marris and Ashley Ellington for their outstanding service to the Sheriff’s Office and residents of Chatham County.

The Unit Citation Award went to the Community Service Unit. “The strength of this unit is not necessarily in its individuals, but in their teamwork and willingness to help other units,” said Captain Chris Cooper. “Members of the Community Service Unit joined other specialized teams and spearheaded new projects, like raising thousands of dollars for Special Olympics North Carolina and coordinating mobile cookouts in communities hardest hit by Hurricane Florence. Together, they exemplify the level of law enforcement service we should all seek to provide.”

All Chatham County Sheriff’s Office Employees are expected to perform at least 20 hours of community service. Deputy Dexter Jarmon received the Community Service Award for the year for completing the most service hours for the benefit of Chatham County residents. Student Resource Officer Branden Havens received the Top Gun Award for achieving a perfect accuracy score in every category during yearly firearm qualification rounds.

Detention Cook Doris Raines, Deputy Alberto Estrada, Deputy Chad Gaines, Deputy Reid Kirkman, Administrative Services Specialist Sarah Allen, Sergeant Taelor Nolen, Sergeant Autumn Keifer, Investigator Jeremy Timmons, and Sergeant Abby Bristow received certificates acknowledging 5 years of dedicated service to Chatham County. Sergeant Paul Carroll, Investigator Matthew Meyer, Deputy Tim White and Lieutenant Jessica Norton were recognized for 10 years of service. Detention Officer Wesley Hall received an award for 15 years of service and Captain Tammy Kirkman was recognized for 20 years of service at the Sheriff’s Office.

Finally, four staff members were promoted in front of their peers. Detention Officer Luisa Rojas and Deputy Rocky Smith were each promoted to the rank of Sergeant while Deputies Anthony Norton and Derrick Lee were promoted to Student Resource Officer positions.

“I am proud of each and every one of you for all you have accomplished in 2018,” concluded Sheriff Mike Roberson. “I expect even greater things from our office in 2019!”


2018 Officers of the Year

Pictured from left to right: Detention Officer of the Year Mike Brady, Rookie Deputy of the Year David Nixon, Sheriff Mike Roberson, Rookie Detention Officer of the Year Hannah Hilliard, Deputy of the Year Cody DeViney.

Return to full list >>