Appointments

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Due to receiving a high volume of submittals, we ask that you make every effort to make an appointment with the person that is the subject matter expert that you have questions for. Below are a list of areas covered with the Chatham County Planning Department and who you can contact for further information that can possibly be answered over the phone or email. It can then be decided if a meeting should be scheduled to go into further detail about the issue.

Note: Most general questions can be answered by Karen Bonomolo.If not, she will direct you to the specialist you need to speak to in order to obtain the information you need.

 Name  Title Duties  Email & Phone

Jason Sullivan

Planning Director
  • Comprehensive Plan
  • Departmental General Questions

jason.sullivan@chathamnc.org

(919) 542-8233

Kimberly Tyson

Subdivision Administrator 

Planner II

  • Major Subdivisions
  • Financial Guarantees

kimberly.tyson@chathamnc.org

(919) 542-8283

Angela Birchett

Zoning Administrator

Planner II

  • Zoning Questions
  • Uses on Property
  • Zoning Permits
  • Signage
  • Zoning Complaints/Violations
  • Zoning Letters
  • CityView Portal Assistance

angela.birchett@chathamnc.org

(919) 542-8285

Paula Phillips

Land Use Administrator I

  • Minor Subdivisions
  • Exempt Subdivisions
  • Expedited Subdivisions
  • Riparian Buffer Review

paula.phillips@chathamnc.org

(919) 542-8276

Vacant Planner II
Cara Coppola Planner II
  • Transportation Questions
  • Comprehensive Plan

cara.coppola@chathamnc.org

(919) 545-8365

Janie Phelps Zoning Official
  • Zoning Complaints/Violations
  • Zoning Questions
  • Zoning Letters
  • Pre-Application Meetings
  • General Departmental Questions 
  • Building Permit Applications
  • Flood Plain Determinations
  • CityView Portal Assistance
  • Business Rezonings (August 2016)

janie.phelps@chathamnc.org

(919) 542-8221

Chance Mullis

Planner I

  • Transportation Questions

chance.mullis@chathamnc.org

(919) 545-8366

 Dan Garrett

 Administrative Support Specialist II
  • Clerk to the Planning Board
  • Administrative Support

 dan.garrett@chathamnc.org

(919) 545-8367

Karen Bonomolo Planning Technician 
  •  Front Counter Support
  • General Questions

karen.bonomolo@chathamnc.org

(919) 542-8225