Transportation Advisory Committee

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

T R A N S P O R T A T I O N   N E W S

Updated 8/25/17

County Comprehensive Land Use Plan

For more information click here

Comprehensive Transportation Plan (CTP)

As a joint effort between Chatham County, the municipalities of Goldston, Pittsboro, and Siler City, the Triangle Area RPO, Durham Chapel Hill Carrboro Metropolitan Planning Organization (DCHC MPO) and the NCDOT, a Comprehensive Transportation Plan is being developed for the county. The purpose of this plan is to help make informed transportation decisions over the next 25-30 years. Maps and other documentation of the plan can be viewed on the NCDOT website.

Click here to view the CTP

Check Out the NCDOT Website

To keep up to date on 2018-2027 State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP) development click here.

DCHC MPO 2045 MTP Development

The Durham-Chapel Hill-Carrboro Metropolitan Planning Organization (DCHC MPO) is currently developing the 2045 Metropolitan Transportation Plan. This is a fiscally constrained document that drives policy and transportation project decision-making in the future for the northeastern corner of Chatham County. Please click herefor more information! 

Public Workshops are being held in the following locations

Durham -- 8/29, 4-7PM, Durham Station Transportation Center (515 Pettigrew St, Durham, NC 27701);

·        Hillsborough -- 9/12, 5:30-7:30PM, Orange County Office Building (131 W Margaret Ln, Lower Level Conference Room, #204, Hillsborough, NC 27278); 

Chatham County – 9/13, 4-7PM, Chatham Community Library (197 NC Highway 87 N, Pittsboro, NC 27312)

·        Chapel Hill/Carrboro -- 9/19, 4-6:30PM, Carrboro Town Hall (301 W Main St, Carrboro, NC, 27510)


Recreational Bike Loop Map Available Online

click here


The Transportation Advisory Committee’s purpose is to provide technical recommendations to the County Commissioners who make decisions and policy on issues on transportation related issues as well as serves as a venue for public discourse.

The long-term goal is to create a sustainable transportation system that offers access to various modes of transportation for people and goods.

Strategic Plan

The Strategic Plan was originally created by the Transportation Advisory Committee in 2010 to act as a guide to carry out it's mission over the course of 4 years. The plan aids in assessing, anticipating, and addressing transportation issues in order to effectively communicate the committee intentions to the Board of Commissioners, other advisory boards, community organizations, government organizations, businesses and the general public.
Click here for the newly updated 2016-2019 Strategic Plan.


The TAC meets bimonthly on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:00 PM in Dunlap Classroom (80 East St. Pittsboro 27312).

Committee meetings are open to the public. Meeting agendas always provide opportunities for the public to comment.

The Next Transportation Advisory Committee Meeting will be held on 
October 24th at 6:00 PM
in the Dunlap Classroom


click here to view the entire 2017 TAC Meeting Schedule

Interested in serving on the Committee? Click here to fill out an application form.



The Committee has a total of 11 voting members and up to 7 non-voting members. Each of the 5 county commissioner districts appoint 2 voting members from a list of recommended candidates to ensure geographic equity. The following members represent/exhibits expertise in one or more of the following:
  • Non-motorized transportation, such as bicycling and walking
  • Public transportation, such as transit systems
  • Personal motor vehicles, such as cars and motorcycles
  • Large, slow-moving or commercial vehicles, including agricultural and commercial product transport
  • Public safety, including emergency responders and law enforcement
  • Transportation & the economy
  • Transportation & the environment
  • Transportation & society (community)

The 11 voting members, along with each person's term expiration date, are listed below: ** the initial term, voting members' terms will be three years.





  • Matt Alexander (Chair) - June 30, 2018
  • Edmund Regan - June 30, 2019
  • Melissa Starr (Vice Chair) - June 30, 2019
  • Nicole Brown - June 30, 2019 
  •  Al Capehart - June 20, 2019
  • Scott Evenson - June 30, 2018
  • JoAnn Beal - June 30, 2018
  • Jamie Nunnelly - June 30, 2020
  • Roy Girolami - June 30, 2020
  • Don Wollum (Secretary)- June 30, 2018
  • Keith McLaurin - June 30, 2018

NON-VOTING MEMBERS: The 7 non-voting members are listed below :  

  • Commissioner Mike Dasher - Chatham County
  • Lynn Gaines - Town of Goldston
  • Michael Fiocco - Town of Pittsboro
  • Larry Cheek - Town of Siler City
  • Anna Testerman - Chatham Transit Network
  • Jennifer Park - Health Department
  • Town of Cary - Vacant


2016 Annual Report to the Board of Commissioners and Infographic

May 2015 TAC Annual Report to Board of Commissioners

    May 2014 TAC Annual Report to Board of Commissioners and Infographic

    2016-2019 Strategic Plan

    2011-2013 Strategic Plan

    Transportation Plans

    List of Transportation Acronyms


    QUESTIONS?  Call or email Cara Coppola, Planner I, at (919) 545-8365


    Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
    They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

    Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer